Search

mandersmedia music shop

Retailers of music on Vinyl, CD, Cassette and other formats on Discogs

Date

July 13, 2018

Goldmine Magazine Ramones “Road To Ruin 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” available in September

A 3-CD/1-LP Deluxe 40th Anniversary Edition of The Ramones fourth album, featuring two mixes of the original; plus unreleased studio and live recordings.

The post Ramones “Road To Ruin 40th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” available in September appeared first on Goldmine Magazine.

from Goldmine Magazine
via IFTTT
Take a look at what’s for sale at mandersmedia on Discogs

The Real Mick Rock Such a pleasure to have my work included in David Bowie Is on…

Ionarts

Ionarts 10/10 on ClassicsToday: Vivaldi, Bagpipes, and Drunken Sailors

Ionarts

Big Boxes: Rostropovich On Warnerby Jens F. Laurson

After lavish and huge boxed sets for Maria Callas and Itzhak Perlman, Warner Classics–drawing on its combined EMI Classics, Warner, and Erato back-catalogues–set its sights on Mstislav Rostropovich. The result is a still luxuriant 40-CD box with the same quality documentation (a 200-page… Continue Reading

Error – no HTML5 support. Please

from Ionarts
via IFTTT
Take a look at what’s for sale at mandersmedia on Discogs

Ionarts 10/10 on ClassicsToday: Vivaldi, Bagpipes, and Drunken Sailors

Vivaldi–Bagpipes, And Drunken Sailorsby Jens F. Laurson

This disc opens with terrific, riveting interpretations of famous Vivaldi concertos “La Tempesta di Mare” and “Il Gardellino”–performances that absolutely fly off the page thanks to Jeremy Irons look-alike François Lazarevitch directing his band Les Musiciens de Saint-Julien while pla… Continue Reading

Error – no HTML5 support. Please

from Ionarts
via IFTTT
Take a look at what’s for sale at mandersmedia on Discogs

The Real Mick Rock “My ambition was not to be a great photographer, though…

PledgeMusic News Bernie Torme: The PledgeMusic Interview

Where to start with the great Bernie Tormé? His long and incredibly fine career has traversed the rock ‘n’ roll landscape for several decades and inter-connected with some of the biggest names in the world of premier league rock including Ozzy Osbourne, Ian Gillan, Dee Snider and too many others to mention. Dublin-born Bernie learned his trade from his local heroes such as Rory Gallagher, Gary Moore and Eric Bell. Today, Bernie is making his own solo albums and was an early convert to PledgeMusic with his first project Flowers & Dirt back in 2014 and we are talking to Bernie about his new PledgeMusic Campaign for double album Shadowland, scheduled for release later this year.

[[jpg212185]]

You’re now on your fourth project with PledgeMusic; how did you first hear about PledgeMusic back in the day and tell us about your latest PledgeMusic project, namely your new album Shadowland?

I initially heard about the concept of pledging & PledgeMusic from Ginger Wildheart; he was doing it a lot and it seemed like a great idea to me. I really wanted to make a new album at that point, but it was hard to do because where there had been record companies in the past who would finance all that and that was no longer the case. I was also delighted to find that the lack of record company input wasn’t just because it was me! After I spoke to Ginger I also spoke to Arthur Brown and his manager. Arthur was in the process of doing a campaign at that point, so I came into it having had a lot of good advice.

Shadowland is my current PledgeMusic album project and I’m really excited about it. Every pledge I’ve done is different, they all have a different rhythm & a different vibe, this one feels very relaxed & a bit more free. I’m not sure why and it will probably end up at panic stations when I get nearer the end. I have some great songs and ideas that I really can’t wait to do and it’s a double album, so that again is going to keep me on my toes! 

It’s a fantastic campaign that you’ve put together for fans; there is truly a treasure-chest of special items & experiences on offer, including one to come and PLAY ON THE ALBUM with you! For aspiring guest musicians looking to apply, what are you looking for on this one?

Yes, we had some really great one-off items and they all went really quickly. That really surprised me. I’m hoping to add some more collectables to put on the campaign, I’ve got lots of them! 

Of course, the most exciting thing for me is having pledgers play on a track. I’m not really aiming at anything but making one particular track sound huge & different. Just about any instrument would work, it doesn’t have to be guitar – kazoo, keyboards, saxes, you name it, all are welcome. That might sound possibly a bit like I’m tempting fate and chaos, but truth is I like a bit of chaos, it makes you think, makes you work harder, it’s a door to something new and different! It is still early days, but we’ve already got quite a few for that, so that’s a definite bit of excitement for me, & hopefully for pledgers too! It will be huge! And a challenge!

Another goodie in the campaign is an additional album of rare vintage tracks called A’s & B’s 77-81…. any early track-listing and a few thoughts that you can share with us?

Yes, the tracks are historically pretty interesting I think.  It basically starts off in ’77 with a promo single that my then manager had us record to be able to get gigs called ‘The Hunter’. That was just before we turned punk and we didn’t get all that many gigs out of it! So the next single is ‘I’m Not Ready’ which is definitely punky go faster and faster land! Then the Weekend EP which is slightly less punk, more new wave, but we are still foot on the floor with the accelerator & then going on to two solo singles I recorded while I was in Gillan: ‘All Day & All Of The Night’ which was a Kinks cover that used to get played at the Planetarium in London because of the crazy guitar sounds! Lastly, ‘The Beat’ which came out in ’80 or ’81. With all the B-sides it comes to 13 tracks in all I think? Some of it is pretty good and some of it is pretty good for a laugh!

It’s kind of interesting to me in the context of recording now how quickly these things were done at the time, usually within an afternoon, or if you were really pushing the boat out and had a budget within a day. That was both A and B sides & mixing! For what it was, it worked. It was an urgent time.

Your career has been truly remarkable – too many highs to mention, but glancing over your shoulder, what two or three moments from the past resonate most for you today?

So many really, but perspective changes as time goes on, that’s part of living. One multiple thing that resonates is every single show I did at the Marquee in Wardour Street, I think I played it more than anyone else on the planet, it all kind of blends into one event starting in 1975 & ending in the late ‘80’s. I loved that place, I’ll haunt it when I die! What a long lasting party!

Another is playing Reading Festival in 1980 with Gillan when we played ‘Trouble’ our forthcoming (& first top ten) single for the first time live: seeing 35,000 people dancing was just amazing. You just knew it would be huge.

And another obvious one was helping Ozzy Osbourne get back on the road a few days after Randy Rhoads tragic death. That was a watershed experience in my life, hugely tragic, very difficult, and full of very complex emotions for all involved. I was very happy that I helped out, and still am. However, it radically changed my whole view of who I am and about doing what I do. It was a very difficult experience to process intellectually and emotionally. I’m not sure I ever have completely, or ever could. The most obviously memorable part of that was playing Madison Square Garden, which was also a very bittersweet experience. Randy had really wanted to play that show and being watched there by a 16-year-old Zakk Wylde, who had bought a ticket to see Randy. It was some kind of closure for me to hook up with Ozzy again recently after 36 years at SwedenRock Fest, that was really nice. And hanging out with Zakk Wylde. I’m very fond of Ozzy, he’s a good guy, & Zakk is a true guitar giant.

Moving forward, give us a glimpse into your plans for world domination following the release of the new Shadowlands album later this year?

Ha! World domination, I’ll leave to the dodgy politicians! I have a 10 date UK tour coming up & some winter festivals, lots of other stuff still coming in, but that’s enough for me for starters.

What’s the first piece of music that you can remember making an impact on you?

This will make you laugh! ‘Walkin To Missouri’ by a guy called Tony Brent, which charted in the UK in January ’53. Now I was only born in March ’52, so they must’ve been playing it a year or two later on as well! It was about a sparrow having to walk home to Missouri because he couldn’t fly. My folks played it to me all the time because it used to make me sad, which they thought was lovable! So I finally asked my Dad if he would go and pick up the sparrow in his car & give him a lift to Missouri, pretty difficult considering we lived in Dublin! Anyway, the thing to me is that it gave me a sense of the emotional power of music. It can move people. Something I have never forgotten.

First concert that you remember going to?

Oh yes! The Walker Brothers supported by The Troggs & Dave Dee Dozy Beaky Mick & Tich & various other minor bands too! This was in 1966, back in the days of the package tour, people would play for 20 minutes…. and then a compere! I dug the Troggs though, they were great! ‘Wild Thing’ and all that! Great sound.

Perfect gig – what makes it for you as a performer?

Good audience and a good stage. The technical stuff needs to be there too, but I’ve had some fantastic gigs when it was not really technically up to par, PA-wise, lights wise. The audience is always the most important thing for me.

Speaking of which, care to pick out one or two memorable shows you have performed where all the above seemed to come together?

I don’t think I could to be honest; there has just been so many great shows, that the occasional nightmares are the ones you remember! I played SwedenRock Festival a few weeks back, and that was pretty perfect. Great stage, great lights, fantastic crew, and an absolutely killer audience.  It was as near perfect as anyone could hope for! The Rory Gallagher Festival in Ballyshannon I did a few years back, that was pretty perfect too. Both of those were just great fun, I realize how lucky I am to be able to do things like that!

Any particular concert venues that you have a fondness for playing/performing in?  

I always loved the old Marquee Club in Wardour Street London and the Rainbow in North London. Glasgow Apollo. Newcastle City Hall. All gone now except Newcastle City Hall and that’s no longer a tour venue.

My Life’s Playlist; please list 5 songs that are really special to you, any relevant anecdotes welcome.

These would change from week to week or even day to day! I’m pretty fickle!

  1. Anything by Chuck Berry. ‘Oh Carol’, ‘Maybeline’, ‘Sweet Little Rock ’n’ Roller’, ‘Johnny B Goode’ ‘Too Much Monkey Business’, he created rock ’n’ roll guitar. I love it all. I saw him once and he was absolutely crap! I forgive him!
  2. Bob Dylan’s ‘Chimes Of Freedom’ from ‘Another Side of Bob Dylan’. I could have chosen about 50 other Dylan tracks, I’m a big fan.
  3. ‘A Love Supreme’ by John Coltrane. Nothing I can say.
  4. ‘Shapes of Things’ by The Yardbirds, what Jeff Beck did on this totally got me into guitar. Truly mind-blowing stuff.
  5. Hendrix ‘Manic Depression’, what a great track, a heavy psychedelic jazz waltz! For me Hendrix is incomparable, at the time he was so different & original. A lot of what he did first has become ‘normal’ by now, it wasn’t at all like that at the time.
  6. Five really is no way enough! I could go on & on! But I HAVE to include Ozzy’s ‘Mr Crowley’, great song, great lyric, great melody, great progression, and absolutely stunning guitar from the wonderful Randy Rhoads. And apart from all that I just love it.

5 perfect dinner party guests (anyone from any era or any background), again any relevant thoughts as to your choices are most welcome. 

I must admit I’m not really a dinner party sort of person! Can I have a drink at the local hostelry instead? I’ve met quite a few people, so it would have to be mostly people I haven’t met. Perfect? Probably not.

  1. Randy Rhoads – I’d really love to have met him, I’ve spoken to his brother Kelle and he was a really lovely guy.
  2. Olivier Messiaen – classical French composer and cited as one of the major composers of the 20th century. He probably wouldn’t talk to me, but I’m a huge fan of his organ pieces. So I could be a real fanboy!
  3. Constance Markievicz – suffragette & Irish revolutionary, who was the first female MP elected to the House of Commons, though she never took her seat. My mother was named after her. I don’t agree with a lot of what she did, but I would be very interested to talk…. she would have to be dug up first of course!
  4. Rory Gallagher – who I did meet was a lovely, lovely man, and it would be boon to have him there being nice & calming everyone down.
  5. Bob Mueller III – because I’d like to ask him what’s going on……?

(Robert Swan Mueller III served as a Director of the FBI under George Bush 2001-13 and was the longest-serving FBI head since J. Edgar Hoover…he is currently Head of Special Counsel investigation of Russian interference in the 2016 US elections. Ed.). 

Yes, it sounds like a madhouse!

[[project:shadowland]] 

from PledgeMusic News https://ift.tt/2uu3i3W
via IFTTTTake a look at what’s at PledgeMusic

Composer of the Week Ralph Vaughan Williams

Donald Macleod explores the life and work of British composer Ralph Vaughan Williams

from Composer of the Week
via IFTTT
Take a look at what’s in Classical at mandersmedia on Discogs

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑